Learn More, Mormon Kabbalah

The 10 Sefirot (Hebrew for “emanations”) are the 10 attributes of God in Kabbalah, through which Ein Sof (the Everlasting name of God) reveals Himself/Themselves to humankind. There are a few different ways of using the Sefirot. Some Kabbalists study and grow from attribute to attribute, while others see them as an urim and thummim. As an urim and thummim, the right and left sides create a series of “lenses” for the natural eyes, while the center creates a series of “lenses” for the third or spiritual eye. Through this urim and thummim, God helps us see both the physical realm and the chain of higher metaphysical realms.

In Mormon Kabbalah, we do both; using the Sefirot for growth and as seer stones. We grow from Sefirot to Sefirot in Christ’s grace, and seeing the world through spiritual eyes by the power of the Holy Ghost. Here we will give a quick over view of each Sefirot and how one may grow their perspective with each as we grow closer to God.


(the hidden Sefirot)

“Thou shalt not avenge, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself: I am YHVH… And if a stranger sojourn with thee in your land, ye shall not vex him; but the stranger that dwelleth with you shall be unto you as one born among you, and thou shalt love him as thyself. Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; hat ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven.” –Leviticus 19:18, 33-34, Matthew 5:44-45

By the illustrators of the 1728 Figures de la Bible, Gerard Hoet (1648–1733) and others, published by P. de Hondt in The Hague in 1728

English: Understanding
Body part: Soul
Color: Light grey
Element: Spirit
Associated with: Elohim “Gods/gods”
Herald: Enoch/Zaphkiel “God’s knowledge;” also known as Tsophiel “watchman of God” or as Zuriel/Tsuriel “my rock is God;” an archangel over wisdom, understanding, and judgment, chief of the order of thrones and one of the 9 angels that rule Heaven, helping make messages more clear. This is Enoch’s name when acting as a herald for Binah.

Day of Creation: The path. Just as Keter is the power of creation, this is the consciousness of reason of creation. Keter is the crown, the heavens; Binah is the earth. It is through Binah we may gain access to Keter and see the eternities. It is the balance, the iron rod, the invisible narrow path.

Resting between but below Da’at and Chokhma, and between but above Chesed and Gevurah, Binah is the understanding that comes from Da’at (knowledge) and Chokhma (wisdom). It can only be reached after one is cleansed by Chesed (God’s mercy) and Gevurah (God’s Holy Fire/Judgement). Binah is the Holy Spirit giving us intuitive understanding, contemplation by Christ’s Grace. It is the womb, a temple inside us housing the Spirit of God. It is the birth of the soul.

In a mundane way, Binah may also be seen as deductive reasoning. It is God helping us understanding one idea pondering or gazing at another one. Binah can be a rational process that within a person which guides us to develop an idea to its fruition. Thus scientific breakthroughs and revelation giving us guidance can both be Binah; understanding from divine knowledge and wisdom given us by God.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments