Climate Change Colloquy Resumes 15 November

Climate Change Colloquy Resumes 15 November

A climate change series sponsored by Community of Christ groups continues 15 November with Phase 2, featuring Dr. Richard Gammon who helped write the first Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change report in 1990.

The free webinar, “The Unraveling and Reweaving of Creation,” offers a detailed look at the climate change crisis itself—how we got here, the current status, and how to resolve the core issues.

This series helps participants align more fully with God’s inextinguishable spirit of goodness that calls all to God’s vision of a flourishing of life for all. Phase 1 of the series (to be archived on CofChristclimatejustice.org) endeavored to anchor participants in the church’s sense of spirituality, particularly its fierce hope.

Gammon, a climate scientist educated at Princeton and Harvard, has observed climate change issues for 30 years and on 15 November will present information on the science behind climate change and offer current IPCC projections.

Registration is required for the webinar that starts at 2:00 p.m. Pacific Time, 3:00 p.m. Mountain Time, 4:00 p.m. Central Time, and 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time, with more information here.

Participants are encouraged to discuss Gammon’s presentation on 19 November at 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time, 7:00 p.m. Mountain Time, 8:00 p.m. Central Time, and 9:00 p.m. Eastern Time. A second discussion will be 22 November at 2:00 p.m. Pacific Time, 3:00 p.m. Mountain Time, 4:00 p.m. Central Time, 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

The series is sponsored by the Greater Pacific Northwest Mission Center, led by the Community of Christ North American Climate Justice Team. Other events in Phase 2:

  • “Mitigating Climate Crisis” with Gammon presents and analyzes the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change global recommendations on 10 January at 2:00 p.m. Pacific Time, 3:00 p.m. Mountain Time, 4:00 p.m. Central Time, and 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time. Community of Christ President Steve Veazey will dialogue with Dr. Gammon.
    Discussions about Gammon’s topic will be on 21 January, 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time, 7:00 p.m. Mountain Time, 8:00 p.m. Central Time, and 9:00 p.m. Eastern Time. A second opportunity is on 24 January at 2:00 p.m. Pacific Time, 3:00 p.m. Mountain Time, 4:00 p.m. Central Time, and 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time.
  • “Engaging the Faith Community” on 14 February with a panel of family members including Apostle Ron Harmon, with Zac and Katie Harmon-McLaughlin, and Emily Rose.
  • “Biodiversity Loss and Why it Matters” on 7 March with University of Washington climate scientist Phoebe Barnard exploring species biodiversity and the tipping points due to climate-based loss of species.

 

Phase 3 will be an in-person colloquy 29-31 October, 2021.

Church Feature Technology